top of page
  • menapolkchamber479

HSO New Board of Directors!

The 2023 Board of Directors for the Humane Society of the Ouachitas (HSO) was elected at its January 19th membership meeting. According to its bylaws, HSO is a membership organization and the members elect its Board each year to manage the Society's business affairs. The bylaws also state Board Members shall serve on a voluntary basis. This is why HSO can proudly say “100% of donations go the animals.” There are no administrative costs. Since 1978, when the organizers envisioned, founded and filed the Articles of Incorporation for HSO, dedicated animal lovers have kept HSO going strong for 45 years with financial gifts and volunteerism. HSO has grown from a grass-roots effort to a professional organization, gaining attention from corporate donors whose grants filter down to assist the community through HSO’S low-cost spay-neuter and vaccination programs. HSO’s dedicated paid staff keep up with daily care of the shelter pets, shelter operations, and pet adoptions, which local giving helps to support. Volunteers fill all the gaps. “This is my 16th year as an HSO volunteer,” stated Board Secretary Cheryl Murphy. “I’m proud to volunteer for this fine organization. We have many other volunteers who have served upward and over 10 years. We welcome and appreciate new volunteers! There is no ego here. There is stability and transparency. At every monthly meeting, the Treasurer presents the current financials for all to see and question. I know my gifts are spent wisely for the animals. Forty-five years is a true testimony to HSO’s integrity.” HSO’s tag line is “where your best friend is waiting”. Find your best furry friend at HSO! For more information to adopt, to give, to volunteer, to become a member, to attend a meeting, and to help pets in need in Polk County, visit or call 479-394-5682. For current news, visit HSO is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

Pictured, HSO’s 2023 Board of Directors, standing from left: Secretary Cheryl Murphy, Board Member Wendy Syfrett, President Neal Fosdick, Board Member Mike Keeling. Seated from left: Vice President Denie Westphal, Treasure Sheila Theriot, and Board Member JJ Jones.


bottom of page